Askguy’s Blog

Live to tell the tale!

Posted in Uncategorized by askguy on January 30, 2009
Crossing the finish line of the MS 150, September 2008!

Crossing the finish line of the MS 150, September 2008!

I was hit by a car this past weekend. I’m OK.

Saturday I was riding my bike on the Silver Comet here in Atlanta. Very bike friendly with few streets to cross as it’s an old rail bed running from Atlanta into Alabama.

I was crossing the largest of streets on the section I was riding and crossing with a green light when I got to the last lane and the stopped car started going through the red light and me. It hit me, knocking me into the hood and then onto the ground in front of the car. I picked myself up and my bike and pulled myself to the sidewalk where as I assessed my condition the driver got out and apologized and showed a lot of concern. He said his girlfriend had told him to go and so, he went…into me.

I did a preliminary check of my body and told him I was OK but to please watch out for cyclists in the future. As about 25 people and cars had seen me get hit, several started getting out of their cars and coming to my aid. The driver got noticeably scared and started for his car. I had determined that while beat up and in a slight state of shock, I was alright.

One of the good samaritans spoke up that he was a former cop and I should press charges. At this point the driver stomped on the gas pedal and ran another red light to get away. I was pleased to see his hood was severely dented where I’d hit it.

I had finally determined I was ok and with a little tweaking my bike was Ok and I thanked those that had gathered and rode off.

When I got home and undressed I had massive bruises on the front of my thighs and a few cuts and scrapes on my hand and elbow, but that was it. A little bourbon was proscribed by my inner doctor. My bikes in the shop getting tweaked.

Watch yourself out there! And more importantly, watch all drivers, even the stopped ones. They don’t see us. Ride your bike as if you were invisible!

Also, check out this great PSA for Transport for London that’s all about my accident:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ahg6qcgoay4

Leave a Reply

